More on Rev Pulsford

First posted on 7 April 2011

My thanks to Eric Drake, who pointed out that John Pulsford was not born in “Turnlow” (which doesn’t exist)*, but in Tiverton, Devon. Thanks to his comments, I have done further research on the Pulsford family. I have found out that he was one of seven children, whose parents were Rev Thomas Pulsford and Anne Williams. His brother William, who had preceded him at Albans St Church in Edinburgh, was granted an honorary degree by Glasgow University, a year after John received his. John’s youngest son, Alfred John, married Elizabeth Guyon Grant Fraser in Jan 1882 at Manhattan, New York. I also discovered that there was an elder son, John, born in Southampton about 1843, who had left home by the time the family moved to Dalrymple Crescent.

* In my defence, I might say that another researcher, looking at the same document, interpreted it as “Turston”.

About Joanne Lamb

I live in a Victorian house in Edinburgh, and started to investigate its history - I then got hooked, and investigated the whole street! the result was a book, which you can read about on my website, www.dcedin.co.uk. I'd love to hear from other people who are interested in local history
This entry was posted in Posts from old blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

