Inglis-Aitken connection

First posted on 12th July 2011

Thanks to Evelyn Inglis for pointing out the connection between the Inglis family and the Aitkens. Robert Inglis bought the plot of land in which no 4 was built in 1862, although he sold it without building on it. His mother was Grace McClelland, from Orchardton in Wigtownshire. Evelyn confirmed that Grace was the sister of Thomas McClelland, and so the aunt of Elizabeth McClelland. Elizabeth was the wife of Alexander Aitken who rented no 2 in 1864 and 1865. From there the family moved to Chalmers Crescent, and in 1871 Elizabeth was visiting her Inglis cousins in Dick Place at the time of the census.

About Joanne Lamb

I live in a Victorian house in Edinburgh, and started to investigate its history - I then got hooked, and investigated the whole street! the result was a book, which you can read about on my website, www.dcedin.co.uk. I'd love to hear from other people who are interested in local history
This entry was posted in Posts from old blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inglis-Aitken connection

  1. Marion says:

    I have been intrigued to read this as I was searching for a contact for Evelyn Inglis – the contact I have no longer reaches her. I have Aitkens family too!. Can you help me find Evelyn though? I would be most appreciative.

Leave a Reply

